Australia semidiari01: Barcelona-Sydney-Byron bay-Brisbane

  • 5/43 days
  • 17220 km + 935km
  • 2 flights
  • 0 missed flights
  • 0 weird stuff
  • 0 animal attacks
  • 2 friend faces
Sydney, 15.01.2016
I’m already at Sydney! I’m not gonna lie… getting here has been an emotional rollercoaster. 2 days before traveling emotions conquered me, filling my mind of fears… Fortunately, as soon as I was standing in front of the Sydney Opera all those fears disappeared… C’mon I was in Australia! Finally! I crossed half world and I just started a solo trip around this huge island! And… I found 5 cents on the floor… so, it was clear… the goddess of fortune was on my side 🙂
And I actually… I already overcame some of my fears:
  • perform an interoceanic flight without missing the flight connection and without falling into the ocean (in fact, this part could be even cool if I end into the LOST island…) – CHECKED
  • pass the Australia’s customs without being harassed by the officers as in Discovery Max – CHECKED
  • get into Australia without being fucked by the jet lag  – HALF-CHECKED [I didn’t sleep to much in the Dubai-Sydney flight, but I feel myself full of energy… today’s tactic is to destroy myself visiting Sydney to sleep all the bus night trip to Byron Bay]
(I write these lines while waiting for Armand, he’s the friendly face of the day, sitting next to the station with WiFi and surrounded by Asian australians, which seem the teenagers in the doors of Apple store in Pl.Catalunya in Barcelona, fighting for some free WiFi)
[By the way, I read in the news during my flight to Sydney that the Opera was evacuated due to a terrorism alarm. When I was there, there was still a lot of controls and I asked one of the guards about the past event… but no answer… CENSORSHIP!]
Bus to Brisbane, 17.01.2016
I didn’t have too much time to write, so I will take advantage of the bus trip to Brisbane! I’ve been for 48h in Australia and I have a bipolar feeling: it seems like I’ve been here forever (maybe because I didn’t slept too much) but on the other hand I have to tell myself several times a day where I am…
“Jet lag exists and it’s tricky!”
In Sydney seemed that I successfully overcame jet lag, but it was all bullshit! In the bus from Sydney to Byron Bay I couldn’t sleep because the man by my side stank so badly that I almost puke twice… no other free seats… 😦 So, at the end I only could sleep around 4h out of the 12h-trip… A totally waste of time… My dream-recovery-sleep was spoiled by that man… Anyways, today I could sleep 5h by night… so I’m slowly adapting to Australian time 🙂 step by step 🙂
“You’re gonna be in the summer again!”
To all that people that told me similar words… Don’t worry! You cannot be jealous of my situation… I brought the bad weather with me: rain, hurricane winds, more rain… (Piqueras style). But actually I’m grateful… I maybe prefer some clouds and rain than getting to 40ºC-Sydney and having a heat shock… 😀
“Sydney low cost”
I was only for 12h in Sydney… but I had the feeling that it already offered me all I needed. In the city I walked around the Harbour area almost for the entire day: Opera, Bridge…
Since the world is small… one week before my trip, a young neighbour of my aunt moved to Sydney. So we contacted and visited the city together… of course, we did it low-cost: free museums, botanic garden (free!), art galleries, walking, picnic in the park… Being with Armand also helped me to avoid getting sleep everywhere… 🙂 The only thing that I missed of Sydney is Bondi Beach, where actually Armand lives, a dream golden beach with surfers and blabla… But I just visited Byron Bay which is the same: surfers spot…
[Oh! Victor you will be amazed with the birds around the city… they’re extremely cute – and ugly at the same time…!]
 “Byron bay”
Yesterday morning I arrived to Byron Bay, a small surfer-hippie village… I really needed to arrive to a hostel, take a shower and sleep on a bed (instead of a chair) after being 3 nights sleeping in the plane and in the bus. Of course, the hostel was a surfing hostel and full of only-surf-people. I was supposed to meet my friend from Brisbane here today, but she got ill and cannot come.
My first impression was a completely “What the hell am I doing here?”. The hostel was full of young, blond surfers that were doing and talking about surf. No room for other topics. Quite opposite to me… cricri! But… there’s always someone to hang out with in hostels. Someone to visit the town, have beers, walk along the beach, talk about life and whatever else. So I was finally quite happy in Byron Bay hanging out with an Italian guy that was in my same room – and working in a Spanish restaurant! – and a German girl that was in the village to learn surf but that was open to speak about other topics.
I must confess I was carried away by the hippy-atmosphere of the village and I was another barefoot in the town 🙂 – FREE YOUR FEET! – The same feet that met the Pacific ocean for the first time 😀
Brisbane, 17.01.2016
I’m already at Helens. Time to clean my clothes, re-do the backpack and connect to internet for informing myself for the roadtrip back to Sydney!! (and publish this shit 😀 Write you soon!)
****

 

  • 5/43 Dies
  • 17220km+935km
  • 2 avions
  • 0 transports perduts
  • 0 atacs animals
  • 0 coses rares
  • 2 cares amigues
Sydney, 15.01.2016
Ja sóc a Sydney! No us enganyaré… ha estat tota una muntanya rusa d’emocions el arribar fins aquí. Dos dies abans d’agafar l’avio els nervis es van apoderar de mi, omplint-me de pors… afortunadament ha sigut trepitjar Sydney i recuperar tota l’emoció per aquesta experiència! i m’he trobat 5 centims al terra, aixi que la deesa Fortuna m’acompanya 🙂
I ja he superat algunes pors que em treien el son:
  • vol llarg superat, sense perdre la connexio a Dubai i sense caure a l’ocea (tenia algunes expectatives d’acabar a la illa de Lost, pero res, fins una altra Sawyer!)!- això si, tinc el cul destruit 😦
  • no m’han escorcollat i assetjat a preguntes a l’aduana de Sydney (despres de veure els programes del Discovery, m’esperava de tot)
  • sembla que el jetlag no m’ha atacat gaire, he dormit poc a l’avio pero el cos aguanta, la meva tactica d’avui es deixarlo rebentat per dormirla be al bus de nit fins a Byron bay
(escric això mentre espero a l’armand, la meva cara amiga d’avui, sentada al costat de l’estacio (que ofereix wifi free) i rodejada d’australians asiatics, semblen els teenagers de barcelona davant de la botiga apple de plaça catalunya.)
Bus cap a Brisbane, 17.01.2016
No tinc gaire temps per escriure, així que aprofitaré el bus per posar una mica al dia el diario de abordo 🙂
Porto poc més de 48h a Australia i tinc un sentiment bipolar, d’un banda em sembla que porto ja molt temps (deu ser el dormir poc) i de l’altra haig d’anar assimilant on sóc diveros cops per dia haha
“El jet lag existe y engaña!”
Semblava que a Sydney havia batallat molt bé la son per jugarsela al jet lag, però era todo mentira! al bus de Sydney a Byron Bay em va tocar un home pudent al costat durant mig viatge (faré un recopilatori final de “worst encounters during your travel”), aixi que vaig domir a trossets potser 4h del viatge de 12h (seguim destroçant el cul). Però bueno avui ja em sento més fortota i he dormit 5h nocturnes 🙂 poc a poc 🙂
“Te vas a ir al verano”
A tots aquells que em vau dir paraules similars: don’t worry, he portat el mal temps – lluvia, viento huracanado.., temps a lo Piqueras. Pero ho agraeixo, això no m’he portat l’òstia d’arribar a Sydney a 40*C. 😀
“Sydney low cost”
Només 12h a Sydney però amb la sensació de que ja m’ha ofert allò que debia. A Sydney vaig rondar per la Harbour quasi tot el dia: opera, bridge,… [Per cert, a l’avió em vaig enterar que havien desallotjat l’opera per terrorisme. Quan hi vaig anar estava ple de seguratas vigilant, però no em van voler explicar que havia passat (censura!).]
Com el món és un mocador, 1 setmana abans que jo es va mudar a Sydney un veí de la meva tieta. Ens vem posar en contacte i hem patejat la ciutat junts, of course de forma low-cost: museus gratis, jardi botanic, galeries d’art, passeig, picnic… Estar amb l’Armand m’ha ajudat a no sobar-me pels racons 🙂 L’únic que em va deixar amb les dents llargues és no anar a Bondi Beach, platja daurada amb surfers i blabla… Però acabo d’estar a Byron bay que és más de lo mismo. (Victor, fliparies amb els ocells que hi ha per la ciutat, són molt kukis!)
“Byron bay”
Ahir al matí vaig arribar a Byron Bay, un poblet hippie de surferos, amb moltes gsnes d’arribar al hostel, dutxa i dormir en un llit després de 3 nits de dormir sentada. Of course, el hostel era dedicat al surf i ple de bojos pel surf. Aquí m’havia de trobar amb la meva colega Elena, que viu a Brisbane per un temps, però s’ha posat malalta i no ha pogut venir. Com a primera impressió va ser un “que hago aquí?’ tot ple de teenagersm rossos, tots vestits monos, surf 100%, … bastant oposat a mi. Pero sempre acabes trobant a gent més similar a tu per compartir estones, birres, que t’ensenyin la ciutat, anar a la platja, blablabla… Així que ha estat entretinguda la visita Byroniana. I com no una d’aquestes troballes ha estat un italià… Italian destiny…
Ja he conegut al Pacific i hi he fotut els peuets i m’esperava una aigüeta més calentota… Ah! I haig de confesar que m’he deixat portar pel hippisme del poble i he sigut una “barefoot” (peus nus) més.
Brisbane, 17.01.2016
Ja soc a ca l’Elena. Temps per rentar roba, refer la motxilla amb la roba que li vaig enxufar 🙂 i conectar-me a internet per buscar info pel roadtrip de tornada a Sydney i publicar-vos aquesta parida. Fins aviadet!!!
Un pensament sobre “Australia semidiari01: Barcelona-Sydney-Byron bay-Brisbane

Deixa un comentari

